top of page

Exit


"He went deeper into black Deeper into white. He could see the stars shine Like nails in the night."

"Exit" by U2

This was one of the trickier songs to interpret for the One Tree Hill Project. It is also apparently one of the more difficult songs for Bono to perform. On May, 30, Bono told Rolling Stone, "I had a lot of self-harm over the years playing that song. I was very glad not to play it for many years. I broke my shoulder. I got into some very dark places on the stage." How the band approaches the song on the current Joshua Tree Tour, is pretty amazing.

At the time he wrote the song, Bono had been reading books like Norman Mailer's The Executioner's Song and Truman Capote's In Cold Blood. It was the singer's an attempt to get in the mind of a serial killer. I did not want to do anything to "Freddy Kruger" or gory for this, and thought about just leaving the song alone. Eventually I came up with a pretty simple idea that I think certainly fits the song.


bottom of page